Duties & Responsibilities
The Tax Collector’s office is responsible for the billing and collection of all Real Estate, Personal Property, Motor Vehicle Taxes and related penalty charges.
The Tax Collector’s goal is to assist in maintaining the fiscal stability of the Town of Preston by ensuring the timely collection and recording of all revenues through the diligent application of Connecticut State Statutes, regulations and other enforcement aids, while assisting the public in understanding the taxation process and procedures and maintaining an effective and cordial relationship with the general public. The Town of Preston cannot override or make any decisions contrary to the Connecticut State Statutes.
Tax Collector’s Notice...
The second installment of Real Estate, Personal Property and Supplement Tax Bills for the 2019-2020 Fiscal Year will be due January 1, 2020. You have until February 4, 2020 to pay without penalty.
Preston Tax Collector
The current mill rate is 26.43 (effective July 1, 2019) mills or $26.43 per $1,000 of assessed valuation as set by the Board of Finance.
Real Estate & Personal Property Taxes
Real Estate and Personal Property Taxes are due on July 1 and January 1 of each year. Bills under $100 are due in full on July 1.
We do not bill again for January. It is your responsibility to remember to pay.
Motor Vehicle Taxes
Motor Vehicle Taxes are due July 1. Supplemental motor vehicle taxes are due January 1st. Please make checks payable to the "Preston Tax Collector.”
Motor Vehicle tax bills are for vehicles owned on October 1, (on any given tax year). Vehicles are tracked by the plates. If you return plates, be sure to get a receipt to the Tax Assessor. All address changes are through the Department of Motor Vehicles. If you question your tax bills, please call the Tax Office 860-887-5581, ext. 2.
Delinquent Motor Vehicle Taxes
All delinquent motor vehicle taxes are reported to the State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles. This will prevent you from renewing your registration. Anyone needing a motor vehicle clearance must pay their tax bill in cash or certified funds. All taxes on all motor vehicles under your name must be paid in full. The Tax Collector may also require a forthcoming bill to be paid in full.
Property Taxes are due July 1, and January 1 with a one-month grace period. According to State Statute Section 12-169, when the final day for payment falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal Holiday, payment may be made without interest or penalty on the next business day. You may pay in person or by mail.
Past Due Taxes
Interest will be charged on all payments received or postmarked after the 30 day grace period at the rate of 1.5 % per month, 18% per year. The interest is charged back to the due date of July 1 and January 1. The first month it is delinquent the interest is 3% (July and August) and (January and February). It is the taxpayer’s responsibility to call the Tax Office if you did not receive a bill. Non-receipt of a tax bill does not invalidate the tax or interest.
Online Payment Fees Utilizing Invoice Cloud
- 2.95% for credit card payments
- $0.95 for electronic check payments
- Paying by check or debit card- clearance on motor vehicles take 5-7 days.