Dog Licensing

Dog License Fee

Pursuant to Section 22-338 of the Connecticut General Statutes, learn more by visiting the State of Connecticut General Assembly Statutes Search website.

Registration & Licensing

Registration is in the month of June. New licenses must be procured on or before June 30 or a penalty will be imposed. Any dog 6 months or older is required to be licensed. Rabies vaccination certificate must be submitted to the Town Clerk’s Office. If this is your first time registering your dog and if your dog is spayed or neutered, please provide certification to the Town Clerk’s Office.


Item Cost
Puppy - 6 months $8 (spayed or neutered)
Puppy - 6 months $19 (not spayed or neutered)
Adult dog $8 (spayed or neutered)
Kennel $51
Late fee $1 per month
Lost dog tag $.50
Dog transfer from another town $.50
Transfer of ownership $1 for new license/tag if already issued

The Connecticut Department of Agriculture's Animal Control Division

The The Connecticut Department of Agriculture's Animal Control Division is responsible for the investigation of property damage, injury and nuisance caused by dogs. The Division is charged with the enforcement of laws pertaining to the licensing and control of dogs, the licensing and inspection of pet facilities and rabies control. For more information, please visit the State of Connecticut Animal Control Division website.

Additional Resources & Links

  • Connecticut Humane Society
  • Animal Population Control Plate
    • A portion of the proceeds from the sale of each plate helps to provide vaccination/sterilization benefits for any Connecticut resident who adopts a pet from a municipal pound through the Department of Agriculture, Animal Population Control Program.